• Institute of Law, Nirma University emerged as the Winner and received cash prize of Rs. 1,50,000

National, 1st April 2024: Manipal Law School, a constituent institute of Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Bengaluru organised its 1st edition of Dr. TMA PAI INTERNATIONAL TECHNOLOGY ARBITRATION MOOT, 2024. The engaging and intellectually enriching event was scheduled for March 30th and 31st, 2024. 

The theme of the competition was based on the intersection of technology and international arbitration law. The relationship between technology and arbitration law is dynamic and continually evolving. The intersection between the two continues to shape the landscape of dispute resolution, offering opportunities for increased efficiency and transparency in the arbitration process.

The top 16 teams from India, Kenya, Bangladesh reported on 30th March, 2024 and competition started through a preliminary round. After a whole day of brainstorming sessions and arbitration in front of a panel of esteemed arbitrators from industry,  two teams finally went ahead for the  final round.

The final round was arbitrated by a distinguished panel of legal luminaries: Datuk Sundra Rajoo, President, AIADR, Kuala Lumpur, Hon’ble Justice Mr. Hemant Gupta, Former Supreme Court Judge and Chairman IIAC, New Delhi, Justice P Krishna Bhat, Former Judge, High Court of Karnataka and Mr. Ganesh Chandru, Partner, Dua Associates, Chennai. Their expertise and insights added immense value to the event, gave participants real-world perspectives on legal issues and procedures. 

Manipal Law School also inaugurated its MOOT COURT HALL in the honour of Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah, Former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of India in the presence of Dr. Ranjan Pai, President, MAHE Trust, Lt. Gen. (Dr.) M. D. Venkatesh, Vice Chancellor, MAHE, Prof. (Dr) Madhu Veeraraghavan, Pro- Vice Chancellor, MAHE Bengaluru, Dr. Raghavendra Prabhu P, Deputy Registrar, MAHE Bengaluru, Dr. Avinash Dadhich, Director, Manipal Law School and the entire Manipal Law School Team. Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah graced the occasion virtually.

Addressing the audience while inaugurating the MOOT COURT HALL, Justice M.N. Venkatachaliah, said, “I’m deeply sensible of the honour of this invitation from the President of Manipal Academy of Higher Education. The landscape of legal institutions is not static, with the advent of AI and digital technologies our methods are evolving. Additionally, the changes and challenges brought about by the recent pandemic propelled the courts worldwide to embrace online hearings and electronic filing systems thereby, hazing the integration of technology into the legal sphere. Therefore, lawyers must uphold their core duties to the court ensuring that AI serves as an aid rather than a replacement in the pursuit of justice”. 

Proud of the initiative, Dr. Ranjan Pai, President, MAHE Trust, said, “The swift advancement of technology makes its incorporation into the legal domain not merely foreseeable but imperative. Manipal Law School is committed to educating its students for the opportunities and challenges of the digital age, as evidenced by its initiative to host a moot court on the topic of technology integration into law. Through our embrace of innovation and cultivation of an adaptable culture, we are equipping our students to become visionary leaders who will influence the legal profession’s future.”

Additionally, Manipal Law School also launched its latest LL.M programme on International Investment and Commercial Arbitration during the valedictory ceremony. The programme will be offered in both offline and blended mode offering prospective students a more flexible approach to education from August 2024.

After two exciting days and a series of activities- the team from Institute of Law, Nirma University emerged as the Winner and received a cash prize of Rs. 1,50,000. Runners Up were SVKM NMIMS Kirit P. Mehta School of Law who received the cash prize of Rs. 50,000.  MNLU Nagpur won the Best Speaker and the Best Researcher award while University of Chittagong, Bangladesh was awarded the Best Memorial.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!