The 1st Deo Mangal Memorial National Moot Court Competition 2022 has been successfully organised by the Moot Court Society, Narayan School of Law, Gopal Narayan Singh University, Jamuhar, Bihar.
The Competition has been conceived with a dual objective, first to commemorate the extraordinary life of the Late Shri Deo Narayan Singh and Late Shrimati  Mangala Devi who are the inspiration behind this university and secondly to celebrate the 5th foundation day of the Narayan School of law which falls on 7th October.
With these objectives in mind,  registrations were started from the  Independence day this year (15th Aug 2022). Moot Court Society received an overwhelming response from across the country so much so that it had to close down the registration process well before the last date, which was 30th September.
Many leading law institutions of eminence which include CLC, Delhi University, Faculty of law Jamia Millia Islamia, Nalsar Hyderabad, RGNLU, HPNLU, Symbiosis, Amity University, Calcutta University, Sastra University Tamil Nadu etc had participated in the competition.
The organising committee closed registration at eighty universities. Out of 80 registered teams, 77 finally submitted their memorials and 74 teams finally participated in preliminary rounds which were held on 14 Oct 2022.
The Competition was inaugurated by Hon’ble Mr Justice Arijeet pasayat, Former Judge, the Supreme Court of India. He addressed the audience and underlined  the importance of Moot court activities.
Other luminaries present at the inaugural function were Hon’ble Mr Justice Anil Updhadhyay, Judge, Patna High Court, who joined the function virtually.
Shri Gopal Narayan Singh, Chancellor,  Gopal Narayan Singh University.
Shri Prof ( Dr) Harikrsh Singh, Visitor of Gopal Narayan Singh University
Shri Jagdesh Singh , Pro VC, Gopal Narayan Singh University.
Prof Dr Rakesh Verma, Director, Narayan School of Law welcomed the dignitaries.
With the Permission of a Visitor of the University, the courts went live for the preliminary rounds.
The competition went through several stages such as the preliminary round,  Quater Final, Semi Final and final.
More than 120 professionals such as lawyers, academicians, legal entrepreneurs, Researchers, and directors of legal institutions were roped in from across the country to judge these rounds.
The participation of colleges and judges from every nook and corner of the country made this competition truly ‘ National’ in every sense of the term.
We have also witnessed the great spirit of inter- University collaboration as around ten volunteers from Integral University, Lucknow participated in organising this event.
After going through various stages, The competition reached the finals where the audience witnessed the pinnacles of the art of advocacy by the finalist teams.
The final was judged by the Galaxy of legal luminaries namely
Hon’ble Mr Justice SN Jha, Former Chief Justice, Jammu and Kashmir High Court and Rajasthan High Court.
Hon’ble Mr Justice V N Sinha, Former Judge,  High Court of Judicature at Patna
Hon’ble Mr Justice Samrendra Pratap Singh, Former Judge,  High Court of Judicature at Patna
Hon’ble Mr Justice B P Verma, Former Judge,  High Court of Judicature at Patna.
Hon’ble Mr Justice Anil Kumar Upadhayay, Judge, High Court of Judicature at Patna.
Prof ( Dr ) Shri DP Verma, eminent professor of law and former head and dean, faculty of law, Banaras Hindu University
Winners of the competition are following
BEST SPEAKER – TC – 64, Ritik Singh – Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law, University of Delhi
BEST RESEARCHER – Priyanka Dey, Department of Law, University of North Bengal
Best Memorial – TC – 80 – Subhi Vyas, Bhavleen Kaur and Advika Singh – Rajiv Gandhi National Law University
Runner Up – TC – 18, Sadhika Gupta, Sriyansh Shrey, Devashish Bhattacharya – Amity Law School, Noida
Winners – TC – 09, Mitra Martin, Jharna Singh and Shivani Bhaskar – Symbiosis Law School, Hyderabad
These winners were awarded trophies, Certificates of merit and cash prize.
The Moot Court Society of Narayan School of law has been applauded by legal luminaries, University administration and participants for organising this mega event with perfection.
Mr Sayed Aamir Ali, Faculty Convenor, Moot Court Society had given credit to Ms Deepali Sinha, Co-Convenor of the society, Mr Sanjeev kumar Singh, Secretary, Ms Nida Khurshid, Mr Arif Imam, Mr Prakash Singh, Joint Secretaries of the Society and Ms Rimjhim Sharma, First-year student of integrated law course. This event could not have seen the light of the day without months of hard work and dedication of the office bearers of the Moot Court Society, He added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!